Musings on #Depression and #AgeingWell

Posted on Updated on

cat_and_human

The is an introspective/optimistic post on depression in later life – transient (sad/bad day) depression, not clinical/chronic depression. The latter is a more serious topic which I am not qualified to comment on.

When I was younger, I was prone to the many afflictions of youth such as self-obsession, boredom, lack of direction, bad poetry, and depressed days. This lasted until my life progressed bringing families and jobs and promises for the future. During these middle years, I had scant time for introspection or discouragement.

I imagine this is a pretty normal sequence of events.

However, even in the midst of this normality, I’d have unexpected pauses for the classic feelings of depression: “sad, anxious, empty, hopeless, helpless, worthless, guilty, irritable, ashamed or restless.”

brooklyn_museum_-_the_invalid_-_louis_lang_-_overall

Whether in response to my responsibilities or benefiting various self-help programs or just dumb luck, I learned to deal with these episodes of gloom. I developed/acquired stories to tell myself  (This too will pass) and activities (jogging) that minimized the duration of these rough spells.

Today’s thesis is that this middle stage of life between growing up and growing old is the ideal time to struggle with (minor) depression. It is the period with best social support and the most distractions. The is the cow pox period for mental health. Minor mental health problems can be fought and defeated.

I believe that the busy middle stage of life is the time to to build the habits and attitudes required for later life.

As the years go on, family moves away and retirement arrives. Social life is hollowed out, and calendars and to-do lists are cleared. Life returns to the afflictions of youth: self-obsession, boredom, lack of direction, bad poetry, and depressed days. Unfortunately, all this arrives without the promise of a long life ahead.

This is a time when internal resources at critical. Once again on our own, I wonder if for some it might be too late to acquire mental health skills.

I feel fortunate that the anti-depression skills I acquired in my middle years are with me now that I really need them.

Leave a Reply

