Ferguson Public Library – Library of the Year

Posted on Updated on

Black_Lives_Matter_protest

In this age on electronic media and the waning years of the Gutenberg era, public libraries still remain relevant and important centers of community learning and support.

http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2015/06/awards/2015-galelj-library-of-the-year-ferguson-municipal-public-library-mo-courage-in-crisis/#_

As a nerdy high school kid, I remember walking to my small public library and spending peaceful time with a book or two. I don’t recall whether I was reading, scanning, or just looking at pictures. There is a good chance that I did not do much reading as I am dyslexic and reading is not one of my easy skills. I do recall enjoying the 1960s version of web browsing. I’d get a reel of microfilm and scan old issues of the New York Times on a microfilm reader that closely resembled some steampunk contraption with flashing lights, wheels, cranks, and gears. Regardless it was my sanctuary.

2004_microfilm_reader_1117365851

Read this wonderful article in the Library Journal about how the public library in Ferguson supported their community. The world will be a slightly better place if you do.

 

Leave a Reply

